Family Tree – let’s draw!

Today I would like to share a material to teach your young and beginner ESL learners Family Vocabulary.

I usually start with Flashcards to introduce a basic set of vocabularies. For this, I turn to one of my go-to websites: British Council LearnEnglish Kids. It really saved me so many times with their amazing collection of falshcards, worksheets and videos.

Check out the British Council LearnEnglish Kids website: here

Check out their Family Flashcards: here

I play some classic games using the flashcards such as Memory so that they can get familiar with the vocabulary, practice the pronunciation…etc.

Then I use the worksheet: Family Tree – Let’s Draw! I ask the students to draw their family members and also write their names.

Once they’re finished, we go around introducing our families – e.g. “This is my mum. She is Anna.” This allows students and especially ESL beginners to practice the vocabulary, as well as review the third-person singular pronouns He/She.

If you have older ESL students or those who are already familiar with the vocabulary, you can also use the following writing worksheet, to practice “He likes/ She likes” sentences.

This always gets my students both young and old very excited! They cannot wait to talk about their family members!

You can download the worksheets from here.

Have fun teaching!


Leave a comment